About metalradio.co.nz

New Zealand's Premiere Metal Radio Station, on the (digital) air since 2011!

November 18, 2019

Demonhead: Release New Album Black Devil Lies Today & Australian/New Zealand Tour Announced

Black-Roos Entertainment

Press Release * Immediate Release

Demonhead: Release New Album Black Devil Lies Today & Australian/New Zealand Tour Announced


YouTube Channel





Australians Demonhead are releasing their long awaited sophomore album Black Devil Lies. The old school metal influences are strong, but a much darker and heavier Demonhead is on show this time around.

Black Devil Lies an embodiment of the adversity they faced since 2015's Bring on the Doom. Losing drummer Dave Godfrey (Meshiaak) was quickly followed by guitarist Rüe almost dying and needing emergency surgery to save his life. "His health was so bad that we thought the band wasn't going to continue", says frontman David Lowes. He continues: "everyone in the band had been facing adversity over and Black Devil Lies is a metaphor for the dark thoughts that linger behind the surface and make us question ourselves and our existence." Demonhead went into semi-permanent hiatus until 2017 when Rue's health improved and the band reformed with Dean (ex Horizon's Edge) coming into the fold.

Demonhead have taken all of the negativity and channeled it into a darker and heavier sound while still retaining the melodic sensibilities of their earlier work. The song writing is more focused and while you can still hear the riff driven influences of early Metallica and grooves of Pantera, they have combined their traditional metal roots with the epicness of Thin Lizzy, the darkness of stoner/doom and the death punk attitude and catchiness of Turbonegro.

Black Devil Lies is out on the 30/08/2019 and available on Vinyl (which includes a free digital download), CD and for digital download as well as on all the popular streaming platforms. The CD and download version feature two bonus tracks Behind the Mirror and No More.

Formed in 2007, heavily influenced by their punk rock roots. Their first release (EP) Demonology 101 (2010), was a raw metal/punk crossover. After numerous setbacks and line up changes, the band finally released their follow up and debut album, Bring on the Doom (2015). This showcased a more focused sound, better production and a maturing band. 2019 marks the release of their Sophomore album Black Devil Lies, recorded by Chris Themelco at Monolith Studios.

Demonhead is:
Dave Lowes – Guitar/Vocals
Rüe Power – Guitar
Dean Lewer – Drums
Azz Mammoth – Bass/backing vocals

Catch Demonhead live on their Black Devil Lies Australia/New Zealand Tour:
"Black Devil Lies" Artwork

Track Listing:

1. Against the Grain
2. Betrayal Avenged
3. The Ritual
4. Children of the Night
5. Blood Debt
6. Black Devil Lies
7. Eyes of the Insane
8. Zombocalypse
9. Double Cross The Dead
10. Face Your Demons
11. Behind the Mirror (Bonus Track)
12. No More (Bonus Track)

Demonhead - Behind the Mirror
(Lyric Video)



Black-Roos Entertainment Website